Time Zone Report

Following Daylight Saving Time legislation in the US

Daily Update – Friday January 22, 2015

Map of DST legislation status as of January 23, 2015

Map of DST legislation status as of January 23, 2015

New Legislation

Florida has now entered into the Year-Round Daylight Saving Time debacle.  Apparently state legislators don’t have anyone nearby to warn them that Congress didn’t allow for that option in 15 USC Subchapter IX “Standard Time”.  There, Congress basically tells us: “if you do DST, you have to do it THIS way; the only other option is to opt all the way out.”

Prior Legislation

In our research about legislation in prior years, we now know that at least 20 states have had DST-related legislation 2010 and 2015.  Some more than once in that time!  Clearly this tells us someone wants to change — we just don’t know how to go about it.

A Look At The Map

The RED states are all on DST, and apparently are just fine with it, or at least have not had any recent legislation to change it.

The BLUE states, Alaska and Hawaii, are the only two states whose legislatures have opted out of DST.  The Navajo Nation located in the borders of Arizona does observe DST, but just them.

The PINK states have had legislation in prior years.  So far, all that have tried, have failed.

That leaves the states who are on DST but have active legislation to move away from partial-year DST.  The DARK GREEN states have legislation primarily aimed at abolishing DST.  The LIGHT GREEN states have legislation primarily aimed at going to Year-Round DST, though a few of them are opting to go without DST while they wait for Congress to approve Year-Round DST as an option.

Stay tuned for future updates!

Updated: January 23, 2015 — 12:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time Zone Report, a service of GoodClix, Inc. © 2015 Frontier Theme